Competition between the Metropolitan district Tennis Associations was first conducted in 1921 for the open men and open ladies events.

Perpetual trophies such as the F. O. Blackwell Cup and the Angus & Coote Cup were acquired and competed for in 1921. These Cups have been competed for annually eversince, except for a period during World War II when the competition was suspended.

Other perpetual trophies have been acquired over the years and most are named after past long serving officials of the Hardcourt Association. For example, the G. G.Tremlett Cup was acquired in 1934 and named after Hardcourt’s first President and Life Member; the D. J. Ryan Cup, also acquired in 1934, was named after a foundation member, Executive Office and Life Member of the Association.

Over the years many household name players have represented their Associations in this competition such as John Bromwich, Dinny Pails, Adrian Quist, Lew Hoad, Ken Rosewall, Bill Bowrey, Kim Warwick, John Alexander, Phil Dent, Jan Lehane, Beryl Penrose, Evonne Goolagong, Diane Fromholtz and Lesley Turner - just to name a few.


The Participating Associations

Initially only the 17 metropolitan Associations participated in the competition. Over the years the competition has been expanded to include near Country Associations as well as some “private” Sydney clubs.

The competition now covers an area bounded by Newcastle in the north to Kiama in the south and as far west as the Blue Mountains.


(Interdistrict Competition Championship Award.)

This award was inaugurated in 1947 and awarded to the Association with the highest number of points earned during the Interdistrict competition. In 1983 a perpetual trophy was acquired for this purpose. In 1988 the trophy was named the George McKerihan Shield in memory of a former President of the Association who held office from 1941 until 1961.

Over the years the winners of the Shield have been:

Southern Districts 2001, 2003, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016
Canterbury Bankstown 1961, 1962, 1964, 1969, 1970, 1971, 1972, 1973
Eastern Suburbs 1950, 1956, 1997, 2004
Gosford 1995
Illawarra Suburbs 1947, 1948, 1953, 1954, 1963, 1965, 1967, 1968, 1974 to 1981, 1984 to 1994, 1996, 1998, 1999, 2000, 2002, 2005
Northern Suburbs 1949, 1951, 1952, 1957, 1959, 1982, 1983.
Sydenham-Bankstown 1955, 1958


The Interdistrict

The current Interdistrict Competition consists of the following cups:

Interdistrict Cups
Cup Category Class
Blackwell Men's Open Event Open
Angus & Coote Ladies Open Event Open
Twyford-Jones Men's 35 years & over Seniors
George Rider Men's 35 years & over Seniors
Shea-Wilton Men's 35 years & over Seniors
George Fletcher Men's 35 years & over Seniors
Life Members Men's 50 years & over Seniors
Jack McCall Ladies 35 years & over Seniors
Bill Austin Ladies 35 years & over Seniors
G G Tremlett Boys 18 years & under Junior
D J Ryan Girls 18 years & under Junior
Presidents Boys 16 years & under Junior
Irene Matthews Girls 16 years & under Junior
Esca Stephens Boys 14 years & under Junior
Wade & Neale Girls 14 years & under Junior
McAndrew Boys 12 years & under Junior
Crakanthorp Girls 12 years & under Junior
Stan Pedersen Cup Boys 10 years & under Junior
Harry Beck Cup Girls 10 years & under Junior

- Senior men are to be over 35 years as at 30th September in the competition year. Teams will be graded on assessed ability.

- Open Cups (Blackwell & Angus & Coote) players must be over 15 years of age as at 30th September.

- Senior Ladies are to be over 35 years as at 30th September in the competition year.

- All Juniors shall be under the age requirement as at the 30th September in the competition year.


Copyright 2017 NSW Hardcourt Tennis Association

Page generated in 0.0108 seconds.